Seven wonders of the world

Here is my history lesson for the day....

Did you know, that of the 7 original ancient "wonders of the world" only ONE still exists? (By the way, the last wonder remaining from the original list --- the Pyramids of Giza in Cairo).

I had no clue.

(The original seven wonders: the Hanging Gardens of Babylon; the Statue of Zeus at Olympia; the Temple of Artemis at Ephesus; the Mausoleum at Halicarnassus; the Colossus of Rhodes and the Lighthouse of Alexandria).

A non-profit Swiss foundation called New7Wonders has organized a world-wide vote to list seven new wonders of the world. [See full article here].

And so, now you can vote for what you think should be included on the new list of the 7 wonders of the world. The only criteria - that the landmark or building was built or discovered before the year 2000. (Hmmmm....not a very historical requirement, is it?).

Some landmarks on the new list include: the Great Wall of China, the Eiffel Tower, the Statue of Liberty and the Sydney Opera House.

To vote for the new seven wonders go to: www.new7wonders.com.

(For the record, I already voted: the Acropolis, the Colosseum, Easter Island Statues, the Great Wall of China, the Pyramids of Giza, Stonehenge and the Taj Mahal).

1 comment:

  1. VERY interesting. I'm off to vote...